Meyrick Awarded the John Cobb Trophy

Andy Meyrick was yesterday awarded the prestigious John Cobb Trophy by the British Racing Drivers’ Club (BRDC) at their annual awards ceremony held at the Grand Connaught Rooms in London.
Attended by the great and good of British motor racing, Andy was awarded the prestigious honour alongside M-Sport Bentley teammates Steven Kane and Guy Smith by Prince Edward, Duke of Kent and BRDC President Derek Warwick.
Each year the BRDC recognises and celebrates the achievements of its members with the BRDC Awards. The John Cobb Trophy is awarded annually to a British driver, driving a British car, who has achieved outstanding success. By virtue of Andy’s historic victory in the second round of the Blancpain Endurance Series at Silverstone alongside his British teammates Guy Smith and Steven Kane, the trio took Bentley’s first race win since 2003.
Named after John Rhodes Cobb, a land speed record holder who reached a speed of 394 mph and the fastest man to lap the Brooklands outer circuit in the legendary Napier-Railton. He later lost his life in an attempt on the world water speed record in 1952 on Loch Ness.
Andy’s name joins those of previous trophy winners that include Lewis Hamilton, Jonny Herbert, Jenson Button, Mark Blundell and Dario Franchitti.
Commenting on his award, Andy said: “I am very proud and delighted to receive this award. It’s an honour to be recognised alongside my teammates this year. We had an exceptional first year with Bentley and one that I am extremely proud of.
“I would like to say thank you to the BRDC and everybody who recognised the hard work that has gone into this year. It is a testament to the effort of the whole team and I would like to express my gratitude to them as well.”

<< back to news